Saturday, September 15, 2012

Our Lady of Sorrows

Our Lady of Sorrows, previously called the Seven Sorrows of Mary, remembers the sorrows and hardships the Blessed Mother faced in her life. They are as follows:

1. The Prophesy of Simeon

"Sorrow as sharp as a sword shall pierce Mary’s heart because of her Child. Mary is in the Temple. She has come with Joseph to present the Child to God. They meet Simeon, the holy man, and Anna, the prophetess. Simeon takes the baby in his arms, saying now he will die in peace because he has seen Christ. Then he foretells the sorrow to come."

2. The Flight into Egypt

"Soon the sword of sorrow strikes. Herod the King seeks to kill the Child. Warned in sleep by an angel, Joseph takes the Child and His Mother and sets out for Egypt. “Why should men want to hurt my darling Baby?” Mary asks herself, holding Him tightly, on the long and dangerous journey, sad at heart because all the babies in Bethlehem are to be killed on account of Jesus."

3. Christ lost in Jerusalem

"When Jesus is twelve, He is taken to Jerusalem for the Feast of the Passover. On the return journey Joseph and Mary find at the end of the first day that Jesus is not with them. Racked with anxiety they return, searching for Him. Nobody in the crowded streets, not even the beggars, can tell them where He is. Not till the third day do they find Him."

4. Mary meets Jesus on the way to Calvary

"Mary has known fear and sorrow, but none so great as seeing her beloved Son stumbling along under the weight of the Cross. She hears the jeering shouts from the crowds and has not power to help Him. Pity and love are in her eyes as she gazes at his blood-stained face. To many around her He is no better than a criminal, and her heart is breaking as she follows Him to Golgotha."

5. The Crucifixion

"With John, Mary stands at the foot of the Cross. “A sword shall pierce thy soul,” Simeon had told her. Truly her heart is pierced with sorrow. Her beloved Son is dying. She shares in His suffering. She does not ask God to take away the suffering. She is His Mother, so close to Him that His pain is her pain too. And now He speaks from the Cross. “Woman, behold thy son.” Jesus gives His Mother to John, and to us. For all eternity she is our Mother."

6. Jesus is taken down from the cross

"It is over. Darkness has come down upon the world. Jesus is dead. Joseph of Arimathea and Nicodemus take down the Body from the Cross, and Mary receives it into her arms. She is filled with a sadness that no human heart has known. This is her Son. Once she had cradled Him in her arms, listened to His voice, watched Him working at the carpenter’s bench. Now He is dead. She does not weep : her grief is too great for tears."

7. Jesus is laid in the tomb

"Hastily the Body is wrapped in a clean linen cloth. Nicodemus has brought myrrh and aloes, and the Body is bound in linen cloths with them. Nearby is a new tomb, belonging to Joseph of Arimathea, and there they lay Jesus. Mary and John and the holy women follow them. They watch them roll the great stone to the door of the tomb. It is the end. "

- From 

No comments:

Post a Comment